Eggs at last

Our girls have settled comfortably into their new home and have finally been named; Kate, Sam, Bec and Sarah after the four lovely Aunties my children have. I think this idea may have come from Sarah, Plain and Tall. We were away when Aunty Sarah decided to give the first egg-y gift, only Tony was here to enjoy it. Since then the score stands at Frizzles: eight, Layers: zero. Some of the eggs made it into this cake:

The bantam eggs are tiny, but so perfect. Almost all yolk. After boiling a couple for lunches today, I rolled through the nap time marathon of wiping hands and faces, nappy changes, toilet trips, stories, singing and breastfeeding before finding myself with leisure to enjoy them. A bit of salt and pepper, some chopped parsley and olive oil and I was enjoying the best (certainly the most satisfying) egg sandwich of my entire life.

5 Responses to “Eggs at last”


  1. 1 margareteaudrey July 18, 2012 at 6:29 am

    such a sweet cake! compliments to the baking chef!

  2. 2 Sam July 18, 2012 at 10:45 am

    I think that’s Aunty Sarah: one, Aunty Sam: nil. 🙂 xox

  3. 4 Christoph Luttenberger July 18, 2012 at 2:56 pm

    woooow. Can you post more pictures of Theodore? He looks so grown up! And I like eggs better than seeds.

    P.S.: we´re very excited to come! we have to get on skype some time and figure out when and where would be best to meet up and stuff.

    P.P.S.: My brother told me an interesting thing: If you peel of a little bit of the top of the boiled egg, and a little more at the bottom, blow into the small bit, and the egg comes out perfect, no need to peel and it impresses people. Most people. Okaaay, some people.

    It impressed me.

    • 5 mavisandfrank July 20, 2012 at 4:47 am

      When he gives me a free pair of hands long enough to take some photos of him, I’ll post them! We are SO SO excited to see you guys. We’ll surely be around to skype so we can work out the details. I’ll give the egg thing a try 🙂


Leave a Reply

About Me

A girl with a camera, a toddler and a sewing machine. Making sense of Germany... and life in general.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 63 other followers

I Make…

Handmade Baby Shorts in Liberty's 'Cordelia'

Handmade Necklace in 'Fairford' $21

Handmade Bead Necklace in 'Wiltshire' $21

Handmade Bracelet in 'Fairford' $15

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

