The Queen, my Mum

A recent delivery of lovely organic flour from Kialla foods had me searching for a recipe to try it out on. According to my delivery man, Queensland grains are renowned in the baking industry for producing an unexceptionable flour. A sponge cake seemed like the way to put it to the test. A Victoria Sponge. Very royal, and perfect for celebrating the birthday of…

Mum.

Here she is as a girl. Isn’t she sweet?

 As far as mums go, she is herself unexceptionable. Endless patience, gentle reassurance, and liberal doses of humour. Sometimes I wonder how I ever became a mother myself when I so badly need my own still.

Happy birthday Mum.

3 Responses to “The Queen, my Mum”


  1. 1 margareteaudrey June 13, 2012 at 3:25 pm

    so sweet! Happy birthday!

  2. 2 Gerri Frederiksen June 13, 2012 at 11:09 pm

    Oh, I and I am so lucky Ally to have your beautiful Mum, as my dearest friend..I too could not manage without her!
    Love Gerri..xx

  3. 3 Leise June 17, 2012 at 8:41 am

    Hoorah for Merren!! Definitely a second mum to me!! Lots of love and Happy birthday. We look forward to seeing you soon xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxo


Leave a Reply

About Me

A girl with a camera, a toddler and a sewing machine. Making sense of Germany... and life in general.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 63 other followers

I Make…

Handmade Baby Shorts in Liberty's 'Cordelia'

Handmade Necklace in 'Fairford' $21

Handmade Bead Necklace in 'Wiltshire' $21

Handmade Bracelet in 'Fairford' $15

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

