Now we are here

Well here we are. For two weeks we’ve been wallowing in a sea of jetlag and familial love, gradually growing used to being Australian in Australia. Things have come rushing back; sights, smells, colours and sounds. It’s incredible how quickly the senses adjust. Just as if I’d never left. But when I close my eyes, I see Germany. Cobblestones, red roofs, the front door of our building. I try to enjoy it. I know it will fade soon enough.

7 Responses to “Now we are here”


  1. 1 Mr Buck and Sandy February 29, 2012 at 11:48 pm

    Welcome home.

  2. 3 margareteaudrey March 1, 2012 at 9:10 pm

    It’s still so unreal to me, that there’ll be no more trips on the 74 bus to august-bebel when we’ll come back to Germany!
    But i reakky like the pictures and the summer warmth growing out of them.
    And I love Theodore’s chubby legs!
    Keep the left behinds updated and we won’t fade away…

  3. 4 Tess Holgate March 2, 2012 at 7:50 am

    looks an awful lot like clovelly. is it?

  4. 6 Hannah Berensen March 23, 2012 at 9:34 pm

    Oh how lovely everything looks!!!
    It’s so nice to see your pictures and the little ones (or bits of them anyway). Can’t wait to see more of what you’re all up too.

    Love xx Hannah Berensen

  5. 7 Martina March 24, 2012 at 9:21 am

    Hi Ally, welcome home! Must be such a whirlwind in your mind as you grieve, reaquaint and resettle…and this time with two kids, not one. I can’t believe how two years has gone so quickly.

    As anticipated, I am now living in Melboourne with Steve in his 2nd year at the Presbyterian Theology College and very busy with my two little toddlers. If ever you journey down this way let me know!

    I noticed you mentioned your now off to Brisbane, not sure if you know them or not but Lisa Seymore and Kylie Smith (now with two kids) both moved there 18months ago with their husbands if your after contacts and churches. Maybe we might see you sometime if we make a trip up oneday.

    Love to you, Sisters in Christ. Martina.


Leave a Reply

About Me

A girl with a camera, a toddler and a sewing machine. Making sense of Germany... and life in general.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 63 other followers

I Make…

Handmade Baby Shorts in Liberty's 'Cordelia'

Handmade Necklace in 'Fairford' $21

Handmade Bead Necklace in 'Wiltshire' $21

Handmade Bracelet in 'Fairford' $15

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

