Slipping Away

Just days now until we leave Germany. My time is almost up. It’s a bit painful to dwell on here, so I won’t. Funnily enough, winter has arrived to bid us farewell. After months of unseasonable warmth that bore no comparison to the extremes of last year, the weekend brought a thick white blanket of snow and a sudden plunge in temperatures. I ventured out with my camera during the week, hoping to find a way to capture it all before it’s too late, terrified of forgetting what this time of our lives has been like. Sadly I only managed three photos before my crew reached their limit and the project had to be abandoned. Shame, though it was -10c.

But then, unexpectedly, I managed to get out on my own. True it was for a dentist appointment, to make every last use of our German health insurance as all of us (who have teeth) have done this week. Nonetheless I managed a few photos of this city I love so much, before the light faded, and my breastfeeding mama deadline was up.

I’ll miss you, beautiful Leipzig.

3 Responses to “Slipping Away”


  1. 1 thebrownpaperbook February 3, 2012 at 1:10 am

    Beautiful photos! Enjoy the last few days xx

  2. 2 Jill February 3, 2012 at 4:00 am

    Know that sadness of leaving a place…and hope, in the months to come, you have as much pleasure revisiting through this blog as we’ve had in sharing your experiences. It’s been really, really special. Know, too, I’ll miss Leipzig in particular, and Germany and Europe in general through your sharing. Hope you find inspiration to share the new experiences to come….your eye for what’s around and your way with words makes it a joy to get back to the blog. Lots of love as you deal with parting. Look forward to seeing you, Jill

  3. 3 Gerri Frederiksen February 3, 2012 at 6:20 am

    Beautiful photos and thought provoking words, Ally.
    I echo Jill’s sentiments in saying, please continue with your blog. I and so many others, have so enjoyed following your journey and I know, will continue to do so, whether it be in Leipzig, Brisbane or wherever!
    What a wonderful experience you and Tony have had, with I am sure, many more to come.
    Look forward to seeing you soon.
    Love Gerri..x


Leave a Reply

About Me

A girl with a camera, a toddler and a sewing machine. Making sense of Germany... and life in general.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 63 other followers

I Make…

Handmade Baby Shorts in Liberty's 'Cordelia'

Handmade Necklace in 'Fairford' $21

Handmade Bead Necklace in 'Wiltshire' $21

Handmade Bracelet in 'Fairford' $15

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

