And the winner is

Before we declare the summer well and truly passed, the search for Leipzig’s best ice cream begs to be resolved. And friends, we have a hands-down winner. A couple of months back I discovered the organic, locally made ice cream available at Gourmetage in the Mädler Passage. The Mädler is Leipzig’s Rodeo Drive. Within lies the 450 year old Auerbach’s Keller, which features in Goethe’s Faust. No seventy cent cones here.

A meticulously groomed girl in a black and white uniform emerges from the champagne bar to serve us our ice creams. Her scoops are generous and impeccably round. She offers to let me sample some of the flavours. We both try the Basillikum. “Tastes like basil” she says, and we both burst out laughing. I must choose between Guava and Coconut, Mango and Ginger, Lime and Mint, Strawberry and Lavender, Pineapple and Parsley, to name but a few. In the end I can’t go passed plain old Schokolade. Only it isn’t plain, it’s out of this world. Now this is more like it.

6 Responses to “And the winner is”


  1. 1 Grandma and Grandad September 27, 2011 at 10:23 pm

    I’m really looking forward to trying that purple ice cream that Rose looks a little unsure about in the third photo Ally. Boysonberry and something per chance? Only 6 more sleeps!!
    Dad

  2. 2 Kim September 28, 2011 at 4:36 am

    Oh, I want to try them all! Especially Strawberry and Lavender! It reminds me of the gelato place up the road from me, Ice’n’Slice, where my favourites are Apple and Ginger, and Strawberry and Balsamic – sounds like they won’t work, but they absolutely do!

    • 3 mavisandfrank October 2, 2011 at 6:50 pm

      Thanks Kim, I love Ice’n’Slice too. When Sarah lived at Wesley I’d visit her and we’d go there. That’s where I first tried cardamom ice cream, which became one of my favourite desserts to make.

  3. 4 Chris September 28, 2011 at 7:41 am

    Hate to be a hater but the guys name is Goethe 🙂

  4. 6 Jill September 30, 2011 at 1:26 am

    Now I KNOW I must get to Leipzig….for the music history stuff AND the icecream. Learning all the important stuff. Love it all. Thanks, Heaps of love to whole family, Jill


Leave a Reply

About Me

A girl with a camera, a toddler and a sewing machine. Making sense of Germany... and life in general.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 63 other followers

I Make…

Handmade Baby Shorts in Liberty's 'Cordelia'

Handmade Necklace in 'Fairford' $21

Handmade Bead Necklace in 'Wiltshire' $21

Handmade Bracelet in 'Fairford' $15

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

