An open letter to the German weather

Dear German weather,

I want us to be friends. I know we’ve had our differences, our share of ups and downs. I wont pretend I wasn’t angry after some of the things you did last winter. But I feel I owe you an apology. I may have been a little harsh, a little too quick to judge. I didn’t realise what you were planning, in fact, I’d forgotten what you were capable of. Spring was some of your finest work. May was nothing short of a masterpiece. I was sorry I ever doubted you. But see, I’d hate for things to go backwards again. And now, while Americans complain of the “heatwave”, German friends tell me they’ve never had a July like this.

So, I ask you, where is the sunshine? Where are the balmy evenings? It’s been weeks. You’ve had your fun. But please, enough is enough. There’s still time for August. I believe you can do hot, even here. So let’s see it.

Deal?

ps Thanks all for the birthday cards and Tim Tams, 28 isn’t so bad.

pps Yes I did knit that. Ravelry notes here.

ppps Apologies for the gratuitous polaroids. The app makes a cute sound.

5 Responses to “An open letter to the German weather”


  1. 1 Rachael Clugston July 28, 2011 at 3:15 pm

    Thanks for that – the weather and I are barely on speaking terms anymore. Enjoy the vacation pre baby!

  2. 2 mavisandfrank July 28, 2011 at 9:06 pm

    Thanks Rach, will do
    xx

  3. 3 kerentravels July 28, 2011 at 11:11 pm

    Rose looks gorgeous in that cardi…and her facial expression, co cute!

  4. 4 Mirjam July 29, 2011 at 8:32 am

    Hi Alison,

    I would like to sign this letter, too!!!
    I completely trust in August, hope I won’t be dissappointed.
    Have a good time
    Mirjam

  5. 5 Jo August 2, 2011 at 10:49 pm

    Poor you Ally! Rose looks so gorgeous – what a photograph!! Amazing! Hope August is all the sunshine and heat that you hope for. xo


Leave a Reply

About Me

A girl with a camera, a toddler and a sewing machine. Making sense of Germany... and life in general.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 63 other followers

I Make…

Handmade Baby Shorts in Liberty's 'Cordelia'

Handmade Necklace in 'Fairford' $21

Handmade Bead Necklace in 'Wiltshire' $21

Handmade Bracelet in 'Fairford' $15

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

