Spring and secrets

I don’t remember spring having nearly such an impact in Australia. Come late August, I’d just be getting tired of the short, chilly days when suddenly a particularly warm one would make me think “Oh, sweet! Summer again!” In Germany, spring is a phenomenon. The effect of the change can be seen and felt everywhere. The bulbs appear, followed by the daisies, then the dandelions which give way to perfect hemispheres of wish-procuring fluff. Leipzig has woken from its slumber and come alive with bikes, canoes, cafes and BBQs. The market stalls are heavy with asparagus, radishes, rhubarb and strawberries. Life is very, very good, and the idea is to enjoy it now.

With all this new growth and renewal, it seems as good a time as any to let you all in on the biggest piece of news in MavisandFrank history. All things being well, baby number two will join us this September. As you’ll notice, I’ve been cooking up this particular secret for many months now. Rest assured my body is boldly displaying the fertile, fleshy joy of being not one, but two. In the process I’ve gained entry into the wonderful world of the frauenarzt and hebamme. Perhaps I’ll share these delights with you sometime soon. In the meantime, it’s time for ein eis.

16 Responses to “Spring and secrets”


  1. 1 Chris May 31, 2011 at 4:05 pm

    IΒ΄d be interested in a Frauenarzt post, but please spare us the pictures πŸ™‚ happy to see youΒ΄re back, would love more pictures!

  2. 2 mavisandfrank May 31, 2011 at 4:31 pm

    Don’t worry, I wont put up anything visual πŸ™‚ Thanks for motivating me!

  3. 3 Ronelle May 31, 2011 at 10:37 pm

    What a beautiful way to start my day – reading your post x

  4. 4 Naomi May 31, 2011 at 11:14 pm

    Congratulations Alison!! That is such exciting and super dooper news!!

  5. 5 Carol Jesson June 1, 2011 at 2:01 am

    Great to read your blogs again – have missed all those lovely photos. Congrats to all re the news. Lots of love

  6. 6 Jo June 1, 2011 at 2:18 am

    Hi Ally,
    So delightful to hear from you again – I’ve missed your posts so much! And I’m so glad for you that Spring is arriving, with a wonderful little bundle coming too. πŸ™‚

    Looking forward to hearing anything and everything you can post!!:)

    Much love and a hug xo

  7. 7 Lil June 1, 2011 at 3:59 am

    Woohoo! I was pretty excited to find a mavisandfrank post in my inbox πŸ™‚ Spring sounds gorgeous, and it’s lovely to hear about baby two πŸ™‚ Thanks for a new post πŸ™‚

  8. 8 Kim June 1, 2011 at 3:59 am

    YAY!! More Ally blogs and photos and more Wright babies πŸ™‚

  9. 9 Mum June 1, 2011 at 7:59 am

    How wonderful to come home and see you are blogging again.
    I am sharing your joy but I was worried as I googled “frauenarzt” and was led to believe he is a rap artist!
    However checking again reassured me you are seeing a gynaecologist and midwife as well.
    It made me chuckle to think of you and Rose rapping.
    Love you Mum

    • 10 Leise June 12, 2011 at 5:15 am

      hahaha Merren, a rep artist. That’s awesome! I was wondering what that could have been referring to but could only assume. I miss all of you, and look forward to seeing you all again soon xoxox Love Leise xoxox

  10. 12 Mirjam June 1, 2011 at 11:59 am

    Hi Alison,

    congratulations!!! No better time for these news than this wonderful spring time. Do you remember last spring in Stuttgart when the weather was sooooo terrbile? It seems that this year is an improvment:-). Hope you are feeling fine and the “Frauenarzt” is a nice one.
    Have a good time and enjoy spring and summer with all its pleasue.
    Mirjam

  11. 14 Tess Holgate June 2, 2011 at 9:49 am

    Dear Ally,
    My warmest congratulations on the magnificent news.
    Praying it will all go smoothly from here on in.
    Love Tess xx

  12. 15 mavisandfrank June 2, 2011 at 10:01 pm

    Thanks all for the comments and well wishes!

  13. 16 Jill June 3, 2011 at 2:27 am

    Absolutely love your fluffy, delicate opening image Ally. It speaks to me. (And I suspect all who gaze thereon). Often think of where you are, what you’re doing, how you’re feeling…and that new bub increasingly announcing, ‘I’m coming…I really am’. I Have been blessed in experiencing that arrival of spring in North America when I have been living there, and in Finland, plus a touch of it in England on the same trip, many years ago. I love its magic awakening that you reflect so beautifully. Much love, Jill


Leave a Reply

About Me

A girl with a camera, a toddler and a sewing machine. Making sense of Germany... and life in general.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 63 other followers

I Make…

Handmade Baby Shorts in Liberty's 'Cordelia'

Handmade Necklace in 'Fairford' $21

Handmade Bead Necklace in 'Wiltshire' $21

Handmade Bracelet in 'Fairford' $15

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

