One a penny, two a penny

Hot cross buns are ubiquitous in Australia. From early February till Easter Monday (Tuesday if you count those reduced for quick sale), these little beauties fill every empty tummy in the hungry hours of mid-morning and afternoon. While Germany has its Osterbrots in various incarnations, none of them come close to the crusty top and sticky glaze perfection of a Hot Cross Bun. And here’s my revelation: you don’t need a local Woolies, or even a breadmaker to enjoy them. I’ve been making them semi-regularly for the past few weeks using a recipe by you know who. Sure there’s a bit of kneading involved, but the rewards are great. The combination of yeasty, milky-soft bread, musky spices, bitter peel and sweet fruit is very near perfect.

9 Responses to “One a penny, two a penny”


  1. 1 Carol Jesson April 22, 2011 at 9:27 pm

    The hot cross buns look scrumptious!! Hope you’re enjoying them with Lesley & Richard. Luv Carol

  2. 2 Gerri Frederiksen April 23, 2011 at 12:33 am

    Yum, my mouth is watering!
    I am also a huge fan of HCB’s, but have not had the courage to make my own.
    You are amazing Ally!
    “Pasqua Buona” to you Tony and Rose.
    Love Gerri..xx

  3. 3 Rachael April 23, 2011 at 4:20 am

    I look forward to “seeing” you on Sunday 😉

  4. 4 Margreet April 23, 2011 at 7:58 am

    Hello Ally,

    We met in England, on Anne’s webcam… i just wanted to say that the hot cross buns look delicious!

  5. 5 Jill April 24, 2011 at 12:40 am

    Woollie’s buns don’t stand a chance in comparison with a fresh bunch of those and their associated aroma wafting from the oven. Happy Easter,
    Love Jill

  6. 6 Kim April 25, 2011 at 12:25 am

    Hi lovely Ally – these look great! My favourite part of Easter, I think 🙂

  7. 7 Arthur April 26, 2011 at 12:12 pm

    Ah Ally, how far have you come since the infamous breadmaker versus handmade HCB bakeoff a few Easters back!! I want you to know that I really didn’t intentionally sabotage your efforts by suggesting they were cooked when in fact they were about half so. These buns look sensational and I wish I could have been there to sample some. Mum and I did find some nice ones in Jindabyne. Not quite the same as your home made ones though.
    Love Dad

  8. 8 Grandma April 28, 2011 at 8:50 am

    Loved your buns which reminded me of many happy Easters at the Cabin.My hot cross buns left much to be desired so I really need a lesson from y9u, the expert. Hope you had a very happy Easter and that the bunny found Rose!!
    I will always remember the happy day at the beach even if Rose did’nt like the COLD water very much but she did love the ice-cream!!Great Grandma sends a big hug to a very special little girl who I miss very much and also one for her Mum and Dad also missed and loved.Grandma

  9. 9 Chris May 25, 2011 at 11:27 am

    Hey what´s up? This blog dead??? Anne´s still waiting for her hot xed buns. Can we come Thursday night for roast lamb? ^^


Leave a Reply

About Me

A girl with a camera, a toddler and a sewing machine. Making sense of Germany... and life in general.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 63 other followers

I Make…

Handmade Baby Shorts in Liberty's 'Cordelia'

Handmade Necklace in 'Fairford' $21

Handmade Bead Necklace in 'Wiltshire' $21

Handmade Bracelet in 'Fairford' $15

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

