La vie en Rose

Today our rosebud turned two. Can it really be two years since someone handed me that tiny bundle?

Second birthday parties are a serious business. I had big plans to make a birthday banner a la Amanda Blake Soule, which sadly fell by the wayside.  Meanwhile, I’ve been busy searching Leipzig for things like food colouring (lebensmittelfarbe), birthday candles (kerzen) and Hundred and Thousands. It’s strange to reflect on the little life we’re celebrating today; who that person is, and what they mean to us. I never saw myself as a very maternal person, and at 25 I found motherhood an awkward transition. I still can hardly believe I’m the person in question when “Mama?” is uttered in my presence. But in moments when I find myself trapped beneath a mess of yellow hair, cheeks and eyelashes pressed against mine, or when a warm body wriggles under my arm, resting a moment before wriggling off again, or when a little voice says “Come?” with finger pointing, head cocked sideways, eyebrows raised and face imploring, I’m thrilled with the joy of being the one she calls “Mum”.

Happy birthday Rose Elizabeth. We love you xx

13 Responses to “La vie en Rose”


  1. 2 Chris January 9, 2011 at 10:39 pm

    I have to admit. A little crocodile tear rolled down my cheek. Best post for ages!

  2. 3 Ronelle January 9, 2011 at 11:41 pm

    Happy Birthday Little Rose! You’re beautiful. We miss you all. Much love
    x

  3. 4 Bec January 10, 2011 at 4:22 am

    We love you 2 Rosie, very very sad we cxouldn’t celebrate your birthday with you. Hope you had a great day gorgeous girl xxoo

  4. 5 Gerri Frederiksen January 10, 2011 at 4:57 am

    “Buon Compeanno” little Rose!
    Love and hugs..Gerri and Torbs..xoxo

  5. 6 Mirjam January 10, 2011 at 2:57 pm

    She is looking so happy!!!

    Alles Gute zum Geburtstag kleine Rose!

  6. 7 Don Madge Alyce Mark & Denean January 10, 2011 at 9:20 pm

    Happy birthday Rose

  7. 8 adkel53@iprimus.com.au January 11, 2011 at 2:33 am

    Happy 2nd birthday Rose.
    It has been wonderful watching you grow up , even from afar. We so look forward to visiting you again this year and giving you a big tight belated cuddle for your birthday. You are a special little princess to all of our family.
    Love to your clever Mum and Dad,
    Blow out all those candles!

    Love from Grandma and Grandad

  8. 9 Jamie January 12, 2011 at 12:11 am

    Happy birthday, Rose!

    Love from your Uncle and Auntie, Jamie and Sam.

  9. 10 Leise January 14, 2011 at 5:01 am

    Aw Happy Birthday little Rose :0) She’s beautiful guys. I miss you all very much. Speak soon I hope. Much Love, Leise xoxox

  10. 11 Jill January 15, 2011 at 1:07 pm

    Happy Birthday, Rose. We’re a bit late, having been north at Camp Creative, Bellingen, for the past week. Needless to say, as we surveyed the seemingly limitless ways of expressing ideas in a multitude of visual art forms and in an equally amazing array of performance and written art forms, (by 1100 participants from 6 to..well, that wasn’t clearly defined but I know of at least one happy camper in his 90s) we thought of you and wished I’d taken along my camera through the days to share some creations a la the ‘Frank and Mavis’ blog. Doesn’t seem possible that the two year milestone has come and gone….what a precious time.
    Lots of love, Jill (and Dick)

  11. 12 Lil January 20, 2011 at 10:33 am

    Ah! Happy Birthday Rose! I meant to remember! How exciting! And what a cute photo! I hope you all had a lovely day!

  12. 13 mavisandfrank January 21, 2011 at 9:18 am

    Thanks everyone for the lovely comments. Rose enjoyed them all xx


Leave a Reply

About Me

A girl with a camera, a toddler and a sewing machine. Making sense of Germany... and life in general.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 63 other followers

I Make…

Handmade Baby Shorts in Liberty's 'Cordelia'

Handmade Necklace in 'Fairford' $21

Handmade Bead Necklace in 'Wiltshire' $21

Handmade Bracelet in 'Fairford' $15

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

