Goodbye Stuttgart, hallo Leipzig

“I write this sitting in the kitchen sink”.

This is how Dodie Smith began I Capture the Castle. I’m not in the kitchen sink. In fact, I only wish I had a kitchen sink. I’m on the living room floor. After nearly two weeks in a strange sort of limbo, we’ve arrived in beautiful Leipzig to a lovely (though empty) apartment. We arrived in the dark to a house with no light fittings, furniture or kitchen. Mercifully, some kind friends greeted us with shepherds’ pie, a small desk lamp and a survival pack of groceries. Very slowly the remaining pieces are falling into place.

As you may have noticed, things have been a little quiet on the posting front here lately. I make it a blogging rule not to apologise for infrequent posting; I’m not so narcissistic as to imagine that you can’t get by without my musings and I must obviously live life as well as blog about it. That said, I’m eagerly anticipating a return to the blogosphere now that the upheaval of the past few weeks is subsiding. I hope to show you our lovely new apartment, our street and Leipzig itself once the boxes are unpacked. It’s all so beautiful, I can’t wait to share it. In the meantime, I’ll start looking for my camera.

9 Responses to “Goodbye Stuttgart, hallo Leipzig”


  1. 1 Jo September 19, 2010 at 2:02 am

    Well, it wouldn’t be VERY narcissistic. I have missed your blogs…so lovely to hear from you!!

    I’m very sorry you’ve had another couple of weeks of upheaval. I can’t quite imagine a flat with no kitchen!! Is that coming soon? I’m glad it all has a positive spin at the end there. Can’t wait to see the photos and hear all about your beautiful new home and city of dwelling!

    Much love to you, Tony and Rose. xo

    P.S. How’s your cheek/tooth/glands??

    • 2 mavisandfrank September 19, 2010 at 3:51 pm

      Thanks Jo, it’s nice to know you missed them! The kitchen has finally arrived, which is very exciting and the teeth/cheek have recovered well. We had to stay behind in Stuttgart for quite a while in the end and I still need to see a dentist in Leipzig within two weeks. But it’s certainly a relief that the infection is completely gone and the sensation/movement has completely returned. You would love it here, especially with the leaves changing colour. I’ll take some photos this week for you. xx

  2. 3 Lil September 19, 2010 at 5:57 am

    I have also missed them 🙂 and I enjoyed the road sign – particularly that there is potentially a place called lederhose(n) (sorry if that’s not a funny joke)

  3. 5 Mirjam September 20, 2010 at 7:29 am

    Haha, the place called Lederhose is also funny to me. I always have to smile when I pass this sign and I always wonder what people in Lederhose wear and if everybody makes silly jokes about that (like I do…) Poor Lederhosler… By the way, Oktoberfest in Munich started on saturday: Lederhosen all around you!

    • 6 mavisandfrank September 20, 2010 at 12:14 pm

      I haven’t seen much happening for Oktoberfest here yet, but that might be because all we’ve done is move furniture and unpack boxes! My German needs to improve fast to survive in Leipzig 🙂

  4. 7 christina September 20, 2010 at 10:39 am

    hello ally! i miss you!

  5. 9 Sarah September 23, 2010 at 12:22 am

    I Capture The Castle was my favorite book for a while growing up!
    I just wanted to let you know how much I appreciated the reference.
    What a quality read.
    love sarah


Leave a Reply

About Me

A girl with a camera, a toddler and a sewing machine. Making sense of Germany... and life in general.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 63 other followers

I Make…

Handmade Baby Shorts in Liberty's 'Cordelia'

Handmade Necklace in 'Fairford' $21

Handmade Bead Necklace in 'Wiltshire' $21

Handmade Bracelet in 'Fairford' $15

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

