Strasbourg

In all the ups and downs of this week there was a trade off: I made it Strasbourg after all. My lovely friend Floriane agreed to come along and we made it over the Rhine and back just in time for the tooth issue to escalate. Floriane and her husband Mathieu (also a physicist at Max Planck) live directly above us with their beautiful new son Théodore, also called “Dee-door”. Being French, they’ve been known to make trips over the border to stock up on cheese, wine and other much missed delicacies. Flo and I have spent many happy hours laughing over the stranger aspects of German life, comparing our hometowns on Google Earth and shrugging our shoulders over the world of condensed matter physics.

The day of our trip to Strasbourg dawned clear and bright. Flammkuche and Kugelhopf were the order of the day, and having my own personal translator made the whole experience that little bit more authentic. The small Wednesday flea market yielded a few treasures including a traditional kugelhopf basin, now safely in Leipzig. But the find of the day was a beautiful rug for our new living room floor. The seller gave a lengthy and impassioned speech about quality, the evils of Ikea and the unwillingness of customers to pay a modest price for an authentic item. I was completely convinced by this tirade (as translated by Floriane), much to her amusement. I immediately handed over my cash and the rug was promptly loaded onto a pram. Strasbourg is incredibly beautiful, with a stunning cathedral and Alsatian architecture. Its buildings seem to tell the very story of its strange French/German history. Théodore and Rose expressed their mutual fatigue and displeasure with vigor on our return journey, but somehow we made it home with two prams, plenty of cheese and one very authentic rug. C’est Bon!


3 Responses to “Strasbourg”


  1. 1 Lil September 5, 2010 at 10:48 pm

    I loved these photos and this post! I was also glad to read the previous one. Good old German health system! I’m so impressed!

  2. 2 Carol Jesson September 6, 2010 at 8:11 am

    As per usual fantastic photography – I really look forward to seeing lots of new ones! Hope the tooth has settled down. Off to Women’s Convention at Katoomba with Lesley & group – should be great. Luv Carol

  3. 3 Flo September 20, 2010 at 8:00 am

    Nice to see your pictures and to remember this lovely day in France ! I’m going to Grenoble and Carcassonne in few days, so I’ll think about you during this trip !


Leave a comment




About Me

A girl with a camera, a toddler and a sewing machine. Making sense of Germany... and life in general.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 62 other subscribers

I Make…

Handmade Baby Shorts in Liberty's 'Cordelia'

Handmade Necklace in 'Fairford' $21

Handmade Bead Necklace in 'Wiltshire' $21

Handmade Bracelet in 'Fairford' $15

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org