Cheeks and Chilled Almond Soup

An update on the toothache situation for those who may have been concerned: it turned out to be a problem with a gland in my cheek, rather than with my teeth. The worst of the pain is over, but alas my face has swollen to the size and shape of half a watermelon; I look much like I’ve swallowed a whole grapefruit and pushed it to one side. Only when one loses the power of facial expressions does one realise how important they are, especially when faced with a language barrier, or a toddler. Of course, the only thing left to do is eat soup. Inspired by the low price of nuts in Germany (when compared to Australia), I had a go at Skye Gyngell’s Chilled Almond Soup, based on the classic Andalusian dish. I even managed to find the “perfectly ripe fig” – a sure sign that autumn has arrived. It’s not exactly comfort food, better suited to a balmy summer evening. Still, it gave my mouth a well deserved rest.

From A Year in My Kitchen

5 Responses to “Cheeks and Chilled Almond Soup”


  1. 1 Jo September 1, 2010 at 10:36 pm

    Oh Ally,

    It sounds very painful and even without the pain, not very comfortable at all! What is the treatment for it? Have you been able to find out any further information in English? I’m sorry you’ve been suffering so.

    Your soup recipe sounds delicious…and filling! Did you enjoy it? Beth gave me a couple of Donna Hay magazines on Tuesday. When Matt was on the phone, he saw them and looked through. Later, as I was looking through them, he informed me that they were “very good books”, and then grabbed them and went through with post-it notes. I’m quite excited! I’m about to start on a whole lot of fun cooking! His mind has been opened to more interesting dishes!

    I tried an Italian recipe last night (out of Woolies Fresh magazine, not so exotic!!) that was SO good. We got to the end and Matt just wanted another serving!! Maybe there’s a gourmet in him after all?!

    Just wanted to say how much I’ve been missing you at church lately!

    Much love to you in your altered shape! xo

  2. 2 mavisandfrank September 1, 2010 at 10:43 pm

    Oh Jo I’m so glad you cant see my face – it’s sorry sight indeed! But if it meant you could give me a hug then I guess I’d let you see it. It’s actually an infection caused by a stone in my gland, which explains the horrendous pain on Saturday. I’m drinking lots of water and eating sour things (apparently that flushes out your salivary glands) but yesterday it looked so much worse I went and got antibiotics. I guess now I just have to wait! I’ve certainly had a lot of sideways glances from people walking by, but I’m trying not to be embarrassed. I just wish it didn’t hurt so much to laugh! I hope Matt produces some gourmet results soon, maybe he just needed the inspiration of Donna to unleash the chef within?

    • 3 Jo September 4, 2010 at 11:35 pm

      Ah Ally. I would have loved to have seen your cheek just to be able to give you a hug! I’ve seen an AWFUL result of a tooth abscess totally let go. She ended up with a Tracheostomy. So you’re way ahead of that! 🙂 I’m so glad the German health system is so good. What a blessing!! I can only imagine what it would have been like if that had all happened here!! 😦 I think it was God’s will for you to be in Germany just for that!!!

      I must confess that a serious miscommunication has occurred. Matt was marking the recipes for ME to cook. 🙂 He is a deft hand as a sous-chef, but don’t think he’d just have a go at cooking those recipes for himself…yet. That may change. We’ve tried two so far. Last night’s was unbelievably delicious flavours and textures!! I’ll try keep a list of the recipes I try from this endeavour and let you know. They’re not all super gourmet…Matt chose the ones that appealed to him of course. Not sure if he read the entire ingredient list though!! 😉 It’s fun, I’ve a new lease on life with cooking meals. Lately cakes and slices have been my creative outlet. Now I’m having a bit of fun with dinner again!! xo

  3. 4 lil September 3, 2010 at 4:44 am

    Did you drizzle with rose syrup or olive oil? The final product looks quite exotic. I’ve never heard of Rose syrup and I imagine I wont make it, but you never know and I’d be interested to hear your recommendations. Sorry to hear about your incredible swelling! I hope the antibiotics, sour foods and fluid do/have done their work and it soon becomes a distant memory. What a crazy experience! And the timing is incredible. Nothing like a big move, hey? 🙂 I hope you’re much better and all is well in the Wright home. Love Lil

  4. 5 mavisandfrank September 3, 2010 at 7:05 pm

    I drizzled with olive oil. I don’t think Rose syrup is something you make, pretty sure you can buy it at leisure coast? Ah leisure coast. The olive oil was good but something sweeter would probably make it sing.


Leave a Reply

About Me

A girl with a camera, a toddler and a sewing machine. Making sense of Germany... and life in general.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 63 other followers

I Make…

Handmade Baby Shorts in Liberty's 'Cordelia'

Handmade Necklace in 'Fairford' $21

Handmade Bead Necklace in 'Wiltshire' $21

Handmade Bracelet in 'Fairford' $15

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

