Teeth and disappointment

Petite France

Today was one of those days you try not to remember in years to come. I went to bed bursting with excitement, alarm set early for a trip over the border to Strasbourg. Flea markets and Alsatian cuisine were high on the agenda, and this was my very last opportunity before we leave for Leipzig on Friday. After all, what’s the point in living a scant hour and a half from France if you cant visit a few brocantes every now and then? Barely had my head hit the pillow when I noticed I was in pain; severe, gnawing pain on one side of my jaw up into my cheek. I woke every hour or so only to realise the large quantities of pain killers were failing to keep the agony at bay. Morning dawned, my alarm went off, and I enjoyed the same breakfast of soggy weetabix that Rose eats every morning. In desperation, Tony tried calling “emergency dental” numbers, but couldn’t translate the recorded messages enough to make progress. “That’s it!” cried I, “We’re going to Strasbourg if it kills me!” Fifteen minutes later we made a U-turn at Gerlingen and headed to Olga Hospital with me in agony and utter misery. To curtail the woeful story, a kind dentist agreed to see me to some avail, but the excruciating pain added insult to injury and I spent the rest of the day with tears and a heat pack on my cheek. If there’s anything redeeming in this tragic situation (and it’s a stretch), maybe it’s the excuse I have to eat those creamy desserts from Neukauf. Ninety cents for a four pack of chocolate puddings? Bring it on.

Petite France by jwallacebrown

3 Responses to “Teeth and disappointment”


  1. 1 Lil August 29, 2010 at 9:25 pm

    Oh, Ally! How terrible. How disappointing and how painful! What a terrible day. I’m glad you could get a dentist, though! Wow, what an eventful post
    – I had no idea you were so close to France! 😦 !

  2. 2 Mirjam August 30, 2010 at 7:28 am

    Hi Alison,

    back from Italy again and big desperation about the rain and climate here… Hope you are feeling better again, teeth are such a painful story!!! My mum and I have very strange experience with emergency dentists (don’t call them during the weekend…) so I perfectly understand your sorrow! And don’t be sad about Strasbourg, I am sure you will have another chance to visit it and enjoy the food (Flammkuchen, Surkrut, a lot of sausages,…) with perfect teeth!!!
    Hope you are doning well with Leipzig.

  3. 3 mavisandfrank September 1, 2010 at 10:27 pm

    Thanks guys for the sympathy. I can say I was thrilled to receive such good emergency dental care for the grand sum of ten euros! I would have paid fifty times this in Australia. The dentist was very nice too.


Leave a Reply

About Me

A girl with a camera, a toddler and a sewing machine. Making sense of Germany... and life in general.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 63 other followers

I Make…

Handmade Baby Shorts in Liberty's 'Cordelia'

Handmade Necklace in 'Fairford' $21

Handmade Bead Necklace in 'Wiltshire' $21

Handmade Bracelet in 'Fairford' $15

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

