Zwetschgen time

I know it must seem as though I do nothing but eat over here, so often do my posts run along these lines. Thing is, Germany and I seem to get on well as long as we stick to topics of mutual interest, such as food. A week ago in the backerei I noticed that my favourite pflaumenkuchen had been replaced by something called zwetschgendaschi. Then I noticed the word zwetschgen had cropped up all over the place; zwetschgenplunder, zwetschgenschnitten and so on. Was this some ploy to make my already bad pronunciation of “plum cake” even worse? Well, no. As it turns out, zwetschgens are a treasured part of the late German summer. Many a tree can be seen around Botnang laden with these dark coloured beauties. Ever the German wannabe, I filled my market basket with these eggs of powdery purple and put google to work for a recipe. What ensued was one of those heavenly meetings between tart, jammy fruit and buttery, sweet cake. Ordinary pflaumenkuchen just doesn’t seem to cut it anymore.

6 Responses to “Zwetschgen time”


  1. 1 Lil August 22, 2010 at 10:43 pm

    Looks and sounds delicious!

  2. 2 Gerri Frederiksen August 23, 2010 at 7:11 am

    Oh, yum!
    I can almost smell your plum cake, with those mouthwatering pictures!
    Well done Ali, I think you are becoming a very accomplished cook. (amongst all your other talents!)
    Love Gerri..xx

    • 3 mavisandfrank August 23, 2010 at 9:59 am

      I have to admit, mine wasn’t quite up to the standard of the backerei, but they’ve had more practice. When we move to Leipzig, I cant see myself bothering to cook this anymore. A generous and delicious slice can be bought for a measly 80 cents.

  3. 4 Emma Smith August 23, 2010 at 9:29 pm

    Finally found your blog and I’m thrilled that the first post I read is discussing delicious food :). What are zwetschgens exactly? They look like grapes…
    Say Hi to Tony and Rose for me.
    Love Em xoxo

    • 5 mavisandfrank August 24, 2010 at 12:33 pm

      Hello Em! It’s so nice to hear from you! They’re actually plums, about the size of an egg, but yes now that you mention it they do look a bit like grapes in the photo. I’d love to hear all that you’ve been up to this year if you get a chance. Say hi to your mum and dad and Jim from us! xx

  4. 6 Gerri Frederiksen August 24, 2010 at 6:29 am

    All the best for your move to Leipzig, Ali.
    More adjustment for you and your little family, but hopefully, lots of wonderful new experiences too.
    Look forward to hearing (and seeing) lots about this lovely town and how you, Tony and little Rose, settle in.
    Love Gerri..xx


Leave a Reply

About Me

A girl with a camera, a toddler and a sewing machine. Making sense of Germany... and life in general.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 63 other followers

I Make…

Handmade Baby Shorts in Liberty's 'Cordelia'

Handmade Necklace in 'Fairford' $21

Handmade Bead Necklace in 'Wiltshire' $21

Handmade Bracelet in 'Fairford' $15

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

