A stitch in time

Remember this wool? A few months later and my German isn’t much better, but I’ve finally finished the cardigan. If only the former were as easy as the latter. The sweet little buttons came from my beloved flea markets, while the pattern was an ebay find. I love knitting in summer; there’s no sense of urgency or the fear that the weather will warm up as soon as you finish something. Sadly, this is one of those tragedies where despite diligent measuring, the child grows faster than the knitting. A bit of careful washing can usually overcome this, but alas (you may remember), I cleverly chose superwash wool which has done its job beautifully and refuses to change its gauge. I’ll dwell no longer on this sorrowful thought, lest I frighten summer away…

9 Responses to “A stitch in time”


  1. 1 Lil August 15, 2010 at 10:36 pm

    It looks gorgeous, Ally. Great colour, and Rose looks fabulous as always. What a sweet heart. That first photo of Rose I’d like to gaze upon for ages!

  2. 2 mavisandfrank August 15, 2010 at 10:49 pm

    Thanks Lil, though my opinion is not to be trusted, I do think she’s a treat to look at. I think I’m jealous that she has the lovely blonde hair I always wanted. Is it wrong to be jealous of your own toddler?

    • 3 Lil August 29, 2010 at 9:29 pm

      ha ha šŸ™‚ What a funny thought. And I don’t think I’m biased, so I can confirm that she is definitely a treat to look at šŸ™‚

  3. 4 Carol Jesson August 15, 2010 at 11:44 pm

    A lovely knitting job – one thing I have learnet as a Grandma – always knit at least one size bigger, then if you get busy doing other things (like patchwork) then just MAYBE the knitting will fit when you have finished!! Luv Carol

    • 5 mavisandfrank August 16, 2010 at 7:29 am

      Thanks Aunty Carol, I really should have done so. The size I knitted was “twelve to twenty-four months” which I thought was pretty safe. But the pattern was extremely old and outdated. I did add quite a bit to the length, but it wasn’t enough. If Rose’s tummy weren’t so round it might have fitted her better!

  4. 6 lesley August 16, 2010 at 5:34 am

    Blonde hair, blue eyes and a red cardy – how beautiful is that! Good work Ally – have to tell you – blonde hair and blue eyes are some of my genes – well thats my story and im sticking to it. Lots of love

  5. 8 kerentravels August 16, 2010 at 12:38 pm

    Loving the Teresa red!


Leave a Reply

About Me

A girl with a camera, a toddler and a sewing machine. Making sense of Germany... and life in general.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 63 other followers

I Make…

Handmade Baby Shorts in Liberty's 'Cordelia'

Handmade Necklace in 'Fairford' $21

Handmade Bead Necklace in 'Wiltshire' $21

Handmade Bracelet in 'Fairford' $15

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

