Road tripping

Everyone hates moving house; it’s universally acknowledged as awful. The endless hours of trawling through ads, the frustrating phone calls to agents, the visits to prospective homes (mentally superimposing one’s belongings) to say nothing of the packing, lifting, cleaning, traveling, lifting and unpacking. I’ve moved plenty of times before, but this time it’s very different. In a few weeks we’ll be leaving Stuttgart for Leipzig. The two cities are about as different as German cities come. On Monday we braved the autobahn and the five hundred kilometer distance in order to find a place to live. On Wedneday night we collapsed into bed around 1am, utterly exhausted.

So what makes this move so very different? First, there’s the language. Leipzig is (by all accounts) a challenging city for a non-German speaker. I could only listen in wonder as Tony bravely made phone call after terrifying phone call, stretching his limited (though rather impressive) German vocabulary as far as possible. Then there are the subtle differences of culture; Germany’s apartments generally come without light fittings, window coverings or indeed, kitchens. It’s no longer a mystery to me that Ikea sells kitchens in exactly the same way as they sell photo frames or coathangers. But aside from these challenges, there is much I’m looking forward to. Leipzig is a fascinating city. I’m eager to know it’s culture and history as well as I now know its hallways, staircases, balconies, bathrooms and (empty) kitchens. It promises to be an adventure.

Road

Road journal by mamaroots

Atlas Bangle Bracelet

Atlas bangle bracelet by soitsgray

On the Road

“On the Road” by slgdesigns

Happy Trails - Tiny Retro Ice Cube Trailer  Rubber Stamp

Happy Trails – tiny retro ice cube trailer rubber stamp by Corabelle

5x7 Germany wc travel journal - Leipzig

Leipzig travel journal by spacedogstudios

5 Responses to “Road tripping”


  1. 1 Lil August 7, 2010 at 1:32 am

    I enjoyed these pictures, Ally. The bangles and the journals really struck my fancy 🙂 They’re gorgeous. I hope the move goes smoothly and that your German flourishes in Leipzig (or it Leipzig makes a rapid and unexpected change to being more English speaking friendly).

    • 2 mavisandfrank August 7, 2010 at 9:07 pm

      Well I think either scenario is equally likely, I’m afraid my Deutsch is slow to show itself. But I’ll certainly be forced to practice, and maybe by osmosis I’ll learn more quickly?

  2. 3 ashley August 9, 2010 at 8:55 pm

    I think moving in Germany is NO FUN AT ALL. and my last move was only 2 blocks away. I utterly dread the day we have to move a real distance and won’t have friends to help move my kitchen. and washing machine. and why in the world must you own your own kitchen? total craziness.
    Good luck! and definitely being in a place where english is less frequently spoken and understood will do wonders for your German.
    xo ashley

  3. 4 Stuttgartgirl August 24, 2010 at 2:32 pm

    I really like the bracelets. Hope you enjoy living in Leipzig.

  4. 5 Shanon September 10, 2010 at 3:38 pm

    Mmmm… =) I love a good road trip!


Leave a Reply

About Me

A girl with a camera, a toddler and a sewing machine. Making sense of Germany... and life in general.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 63 other followers

I Make…

Handmade Baby Shorts in Liberty's 'Cordelia'

Handmade Necklace in 'Fairford' $21

Handmade Bead Necklace in 'Wiltshire' $21

Handmade Bracelet in 'Fairford' $15

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

