World Cup Woe II

The feelings of anguish that prompted my first World Cup post seem nothing compared to those that compel me now! On Monday night I dreamed about the match; this morning I woke with a knot in my stomach. In my nervous state, I couldn’t even watch the game. But I do know how it ended.

I’ll be honest, I’d been nursing some highly questionable thoughts. If Germany were to win (I reasoned) it would vindicate the decision to move, make every obstacle seem more surmountable and prove that life in Germany would somehow be alright. This is at best irrational, and at worst, superstitious. And now that the deed is done, I can see my hopes were based on something much more fundamental; I wanted a happy Germany. I wanted to put a flag on our Golf, and to join the giant party. Where it’s normally a challenge to exchange the briefest greeting, I wanted to share something in common with those around me. For better or worse, sport has a uncanny ability to unite people. Could it be, in misery and disappointment, tonight I became a little more German?

28 June 10 - 6x9 Fine Art Daily Photo

June 28 2010 by TheDailyFoto

German Flag Stained Glass Pendant Necklace

German Flag Stained Glass Pendant Necklace by FiveSparrows

World Cup Hat Germany

World Cup Germany Hat by LauraHats

Braided Cuff, Germany, World Cup bracelets

Germany World Cup Braided Bracelet by Theglamrack

World Cup 2010 Fifa soccer Germany team ring

Germany World Cup Glass Tile Ring by buysomelove

Deutschland

Deutschland Matchbox by supermayaaa

5 Responses to “World Cup Woe II”


  1. 1 Carol Jesson July 8, 2010 at 6:37 am

    At least Germany knows how the Aussies feel!! Also for you
    Eph. 1:15-22 Lots of love to you all always!!

  2. 2 ashley @ Chasing Heartbeats July 12, 2010 at 7:40 am

    I totally understand feeling a little more German. We watched practically every game and I felt so tied to and proud of our German boys, when they won, we won and when they lost, the country’s heart broke a little bit. Its not something I have experienced in the US. LOVE the way it brings the entire country together to support something fun and joyful. Its a strange feeling now that it is all over….

    • 3 mavisandfrank July 12, 2010 at 8:21 am

      Oh me too, I’m Podolski’s newest and biggest fan. I’m so glad I’m not alone! I was beginning to think it was just me having a strange obsession with a team I really have no connection to. But really, they played so fantastically all through the comp, they’re the real winners to me! In Australia we have three different codes of football, all with their dedicated followers, so it was a novelty for me too to see everyone come together over the national obsession. Hope you’re enjoying the gorgeous weather xx

  3. 4 Kristina July 15, 2010 at 4:09 am

    Imagine my surprise when I googled my shop name on google and found that someone had blogge about one of my items.

    You made my day!

    Thank you for including my Germany ring in your post.

    Love your blog!

    Kristina


Leave a Reply

About Me

A girl with a camera, a toddler and a sewing machine. Making sense of Germany... and life in general.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 63 other followers

I Make…

Handmade Baby Shorts in Liberty's 'Cordelia'

Handmade Necklace in 'Fairford' $21

Handmade Bead Necklace in 'Wiltshire' $21

Handmade Bracelet in 'Fairford' $15

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

