Shades of Grey

Spring continues to elude us, and it seems everywhere we look is grey. Once or twice I’ve found myself lying on the floor staring at the ceiling to rest my eyes from the ubiquitous grey of the carpet. I think I’ve started to dream in that colour. Rose doesn’t seem to mind it so much, can grey be a happy colour?

14 Responses to “Shades of Grey”


  1. 1 Samantha May 20, 2010 at 8:47 am

    Hi Ally, Just think – grey is the perfect background for a spectrum of bright and beautiful colours. Think of it as your blank canvas… kinda puts a positive spin on it? Right?… πŸ™‚ Sam xoxox

    • 2 mavisandfrank May 20, 2010 at 10:28 am

      Thanks Sam, I’ll try. It certainly looks nicer through the lens of my camera than it does in real life though. Oh I can’t wait to show you what I made last night. I stayed up till 1am and didn’t finish it, but couldn’t sleep cause I was so excited. I’ll send you a photo, stay tuned.

  2. 4 lesley May 20, 2010 at 8:52 am

    How delightful is that happy little face and that cute little body

  3. 5 Mirjam May 20, 2010 at 12:22 pm

    Do don’t worry because of the weather. Spring will come!!!! I heard it on the weather forecast. This weekend everything will be better! You must have terrible impressions of Germany. We don’t always have cold and rainy days. But you are right, I feel the same. Grey all day long, that’s terrible! I tend to wear multi-color dresses at the moment to change my bad mood. It helps a bit…

    • 6 mavisandfrank May 20, 2010 at 8:22 pm

      I know what you mean, I changed my top this morning to something colourful. It’s really ok, we do have grey weather in Australia. I think I must have reached that stage in expat life where you start to romanticise your homeland.

      • 7 Annaleise May 24, 2010 at 9:26 am

        I just saw a cockroach run over my desk… I thought that might help keep a realistic perspective of life in Wollongong at least πŸ™‚

      • 8 mavisandfrank May 25, 2010 at 10:05 pm

        I actually think about that on a regular basis! I think, ah well I’ll just clean up the kitchen in the morning. No cockroaches here anyhow…

  4. 9 Jo May 21, 2010 at 1:04 am

    Oh Ally, I know what you mean. I’m very grey very quickly if the weather is grey for more than a couple of days! I agree with Mirjam though and Samantha too, grey is the perfect backdrop for all other colours and they can help affect your mood…to some degree. I’ve actually just started developing a liking for beigey/grey with stark white trim for interior house colours as a neutral base. The trouble with the weather it doesn’t usually have those warm brown tones mixed in. It’s usually just plain old grey. It’ll be there soon, the sun I mean. And you’ll just love your first sunny day when those rays soak into your bones. Maybe it’s time for all that makeup you bought!! πŸ™‚ Jo xo

  5. 10 Mirjam May 21, 2010 at 7:55 am

    And it is not only us who are suffering from the weather. Yesterday evening I went for a walk with my dog. On our way it became very foggy and the air suddenly was so wet. Doggy had a look at me as if he wanted to say: “Why do you take me out? I want to go home! NOW!!!!” Well, he is a big dog and not one of those small ones who lay on the couch day and night. When we arrived home we both were completely wet and had to spend some time on dog wellness… The funny thing is: this morning he denied the walk. He stood on the door with his tail between his legs and it simply was impossible to move him…. Oh, I can understand him. Another day for a coloured shirt and dreams of beaches and sun…

  6. 11 Annaleise May 24, 2010 at 9:29 am

    All this talk of Keren and photos of your house is so nice. I appreciate that it’s not the same for you, but it’s all so lovely and familiar and so far away for me. The photo of Rose on the floor, not caring about all the grey, is lovely too. (and I love her red boots in the earlier photos). Very cute πŸ™‚

    • 12 mavisandfrank May 25, 2010 at 10:08 pm

      Those shoes are only just squeezing onto her feet, but baby shoes are so expensive here! I think people are prepared to pay for good quality though, rather than buying the rubbish from Big Dubs. I’m planning on buying some in Paris πŸ™‚

  7. 13 annaleisemaree May 24, 2010 at 10:04 am

    Check it out, Ally, I got a photo to better communicate with you πŸ™‚ !

    • 14 mavisandfrank May 25, 2010 at 10:05 pm

      Love it, but I cant figure out how to make it go big so I can actually see you guys? If his head size in relation to yours is an indication, he’s grown lots. No surprises but still amazing.


Leave a Reply

About Me

A girl with a camera, a toddler and a sewing machine. Making sense of Germany... and life in general.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 63 other followers

I Make…

Handmade Baby Shorts in Liberty's 'Cordelia'

Handmade Necklace in 'Fairford' $21

Handmade Bead Necklace in 'Wiltshire' $21

Handmade Bracelet in 'Fairford' $15

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

