Socks ain’t socks

Sock knitting is a serious business. Sure, I’ve knitted a few pairs of socks. I can turn a heel. But my limp tubes of stocking stitch have absolutely nothing on the work of a true sock knitter. Today Rose and I were lucky enough to spend some time with the lovely Ulli and her family. Here are some of Ulli’s recent creations…

Now that is what I call a sock. If these weren’t enough to impress you, she also knits incredible mittens and hats like these

and beautiful lace shawls like this one.

Ulli, you are one talented Frau! Thanks for having us xx

8 Responses to “Socks ain’t socks”


  1. 1 Samantha May 10, 2010 at 10:18 pm

    Hi Ally! Hope you got the photos I emailed you. Those socks are amazing! I hope you pick up a few pointers from Ulli, because I am sure your Mum, Skel and I will be itching for you to make us some pairs when you come home. So glad you are having more knitting days – what knitting project are you working on at the moment? πŸ™‚ How beautiful those socks all are! Can they be knitted in miniature to fit Rose’s tiny feet?

    Much love,
    Sam xoxoxoxoxoxoxo

    • 2 mavisandfrank May 11, 2010 at 11:01 am

      I did get the photos, thanks honey. Aren’t they incredible? I don’t think I’ll be knitting a sock like that anytime soon. I’m working on a little red cardigan with raglan sleeves for Rose. The pattern is really old so the instructions are a bit unclear, but I just love raglan sleeves. I feel like such an amateur knitter though…

  2. 3 Carol Jesson May 11, 2010 at 12:50 am

    Oh what a privilege to meet up with someone as talented as that!!
    Drink in whatever hints you are able to learn – Thank you Lord!!

  3. 4 Jo May 11, 2010 at 1:12 am

    Wow Ally! They’re amazing! I didn’t know socks were actually hand knitted that much anymore! Does she sell on etsy?
    I’m so glad you’ve found a knitting buddy, and one who you can spend some time with. πŸ™‚

    Love to you,
    Jo xo

  4. 6 Ulli May 12, 2010 at 6:24 am

    OMG you make me blush! Thank you so very much.
    I don’t have an etsy shop and usually I don’t sell them. Maybe I should?
    It was so nice to have both of you over here. We defintly have to repeat that very soon.

    • 7 mavisandfrank May 12, 2010 at 9:08 am

      You should absolutely sell them, you’d be a millionaire in no time! However, I must warn you that making things by hand becomes a whole new experience when you sell them. A lot like work. I’ve made a pledge never to sell knitted things because knitting is just for me πŸ™‚

  5. 8 Annaleise May 15, 2010 at 1:33 am

    They are lovely. I love the photos of the socks, with the feet on tippy toes and the heels sort of together πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

About Me

A girl with a camera, a toddler and a sewing machine. Making sense of Germany... and life in general.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 63 other followers

I Make…

Handmade Baby Shorts in Liberty's 'Cordelia'

Handmade Necklace in 'Fairford' $21

Handmade Bead Necklace in 'Wiltshire' $21

Handmade Bracelet in 'Fairford' $15

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

