Asian Food and Gifts

On my way home a few weeks ago I spotted a sign from the window of the U-Bahn – “Asian Food and Gifts”. Could this be? The first and only Asian grocery store I’ve seen so far. I took note of the next U-station and resolved to pay a visit. I couldn’t believe my luck. Shao Xsing wine, brown rice vinegar, light AND dark soy sauce!

It’s all Kylie Kwong’s fault. Last year I bought Tony a copy of Simple Chinese Cooking as a birthday present after eating one of the most delicious meals of our lives at her restaurant in Sydney. This book revolutionised our culinary lives. No longer do I think of Chinese food as a gluggy mess of tasteless goo, watery vegetables and generic flavour that I am bound by love to eat once a year on Tony’s birthday. Thanks to Kylie, I now know that Chinese food is fresh, zingy, healthy and at least as delectable as Italian or Thai. I have even learned to love iceberg lettuce (sorry Jamie Oliver) thanks to Chinese Style Lettuce Salad. It’s a taste sensation! Owing to the preponderance of pork in Germany, I can now buy pork neck fillet (key ingredient of our favourite dinner: Stir-fried pork with honey and ginger) at a fraction of the price I paid in Australia.

Apart from scoring major points with my husband for bringing home Mi Goreng noodles (what is it about men and Mi Goreng? Pete? Dan?) I found something strangely liberating about Asian Food and Gifts. I couldn’t read the labels, but then neither (I assume) could the German customers standing beside me. It was neutral territory, and obscure Asian ingredients were a level playing field. Among piles of bamboo steamers and sacks of sweet smelling rice, everything evened out. Have Germany and I found common ground at last?

8 Responses to “Asian Food and Gifts”


  1. 1 lesley May 8, 2010 at 10:24 am

    Hooray!!!!!

  2. 2 Gerri Frederiksen May 9, 2010 at 8:14 am

    Food, glorious food!
    I believe cooking and preparing food for our loved ones, is not only creative and theraputic, but also an integral part of expressing and nuturing ourselves.
    From a fellow lover of culinary delights!…Gerri…xoxo

  3. 4 Jean May 10, 2010 at 11:41 am

    Hi Ally
    I have been following your adventures on the internet.It makes me feel like I am very nearly there with you, It makes me feel that the world is a small place . Your photos are lovely, very atmospheric .Its great to see Rose growing so beautifully. I liked the story of your interaction in the Asian Supermarket. Food is a great way to connect with people and you may have found a window that lets you in . Keep at it Ally, I’m sure this will be a great experience for all of you.
    Keep writing your blog, its my way to travel!!! (just kidding)
    Love to Tony and kiss for Rose,
    Keep safe,
    lots of love
    Jean x

    • 5 mavisandfrank May 10, 2010 at 11:47 am

      Hello Jean! Thanks for your lovely comment. I think food is certainly one of the best ways to get to know a new place. So glad you’re reading, please give my love to all the girls and Phil xxx

  4. 6 Kevin May 11, 2010 at 6:52 am

    Hi tony and ally!

    Mi goreng.

    Yeew!

    Kevin

  5. 8 Annaleise May 15, 2010 at 1:31 am

    ha ha 🙂 when I got up to scoring points with my husband for bringing home mi goreng, I was like, wow, I wonder what it is about mi goreng, and then I read, what is it… 🙂


Leave a Reply

About Me

A girl with a camera, a toddler and a sewing machine. Making sense of Germany... and life in general.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 63 other followers

I Make…

Handmade Baby Shorts in Liberty's 'Cordelia'

Handmade Necklace in 'Fairford' $21

Handmade Bead Necklace in 'Wiltshire' $21

Handmade Bracelet in 'Fairford' $15

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

