The Meat Market

German sliced meats

If you were to come to Germany in search of beef, pork or chicken, you’d find they’re called rinderfleish, sweinefleish and putenfleish. Make no mistake, you are eating the flesh of your chosen animal. The bluntness in the translation took me a little by surprise when first I ventured out to the supermarkets of Botnang. After a few weeks I’d grown quite used to being reminded of exactly what I was eating. In fact, does it not make euphemisms like “beef” or “pork” seem rather foolish? Sadly red meat is generally beyond our price range in Stuttgart, and pork reigns supreme. At one point I thought I’d found a local butcher. You will imagine my shock on discovering that bücherei actually means library…

It’s certain that Germans are more comfortable (than say your average Aussie) with the idea of making the most of their animals. Processed meats are everywhere, cured, jellied or pressed. From ballet pink to deep maroon they are studded and flecked with all manner of flavourings. Tony and Rose have enjoyed exploring the range of mysterious slices, I prefer to stick to the traditional ham (schinken) for now. Oh, and if you wanted to buy mince, you’d find its called hackfleish.

13 Responses to “The Meat Market”


  1. 1 Jo April 27, 2010 at 9:53 pm

    Ooh. Hackfleish really doesn’t sound that appealing. It puts a whole new slant on the term butcher! Just out of curiosity, what is the term for Butcher? One might be tempted to become vegetarian if the array of cold meats were all that was on offer!! 🙂

  2. 2 Carol Jesson April 27, 2010 at 11:53 pm

    This photo of meats reminded me of our old butcher – Rudi’s at Kirrawee – went there for about 10 years before we moved down south. I always buy some meats whenever I am up “in the big smoke”. You should give them a try !!

  3. 3 Sally May 1, 2010 at 2:15 am

    I totally know what you mean about their meat names! It put me off for a while! I never made that connection with the Bucherei – how funny! Loving your photos and stories Ally xx

    • 4 mavisandfrank May 4, 2010 at 10:09 am

      Thanks Sal, I’ve been very slack with my language practice, you’ll have to hound me about it I think. I often think of you for inspiration to persevere with it. Hope you guys are well xx

  4. 5 Naomi May 3, 2010 at 2:00 am

    Hi Ally – Long time since HAHS! Vanessa gave me the address for this blog and I look forward to reading your adventures. My husband is from German stock and we spent our honeymoon in Leonburg nearly two years ago. We are coming back this Christmas and will be staying in Tieffenbronn which isn’t far from you there in Stuttgart. I’d love to catch up for a coffee if you’re interested? Anyway, check out the schloss at Ludwigsburg if you get a chance. It’s amazing 🙂 I’ve been to Heidelburg and spent the day at the schloss there – great place 🙂 Did they tell you about the legend with the door knocker?
    Anyway, hope to hear from you soon – email me if you like, or I’m on Facebook with my new surname.
    BTW – Rose is amazingly beautiful!
    Wiedersehen!!

    • 6 mavisandfrank May 4, 2010 at 10:07 am

      Hi Naomi, thanks for getting in touch! Sadly we’ll have moved to Leipzig by Christmas, but if you end up over that way it’d be great to have a coffee. Thanks for the tips, we’re getting there slowly. Glad you enjoyed reading xx

  5. 7 Vanessa May 3, 2010 at 3:29 am

    Hi Ally!

    i ran into your mum in camden on the weekend and she pointed me in the direction of the blog – glad she did!

    Your photos are amazing, firstly – and happy to see your endevours at fitting in over there!

    Hope your are all well, Rose looks so much bigger since I saw you guys at the beach!

    Looking forward to readding more! Say hi to Tony for me 🙂
    – Vanessa xx

    • 8 mavisandfrank May 4, 2010 at 10:04 am

      Hey Vanessa! Thanks for the comment, so glad you like the blog. We’re doing ok, slowly figuring things out. Rose is changing so fast, its amazing. Tony says to say hi, we’d love to hear how you’re going! xx

      • 9 Vanessa May 4, 2010 at 10:19 pm

        In going good, Miro and I set a date for our wedding June next year (honeymooning in Europe, maybe we’ll be able to organise meeting up?!) and otherwise I’m generally caught up in all things wedding at the moment – the mums and us are going to our reception venue in darling harbour on Saturday to pay our deposit!!!

        Your mum was so funny when I ran into her, I haven’t seen her since high school and we recognized each other straight away, she was telling me all about her trip over there soon – you guys must be looking forward to it (a bit of a mum touch around the house always makes me feel better – although I’ve only ever experienced it once, living in Bradbury, I guess my mum doesn’t really feel the need hahaha)

        I’ve really enjoyed reading your observations and experiences – and I wonder, how does Tony fit in at work, is he finding that challenging??

        Anyway, you’re bookmarked now – and a welcome distraction at work – so there’s no shaking me now! Haha! xx

  6. 10 Ulli May 4, 2010 at 6:27 am

    Hi Ally,

    Butcher = Metzger/Metzgerei
    Groundbeef = Hackfleisch

    And please don’t you just stay to ham! You really have to try some sliced sausage! Germany is popular for that, especially the southern part of it. Once you tried it, you don’t wanna stop, trust me *lol*. Start with some “Bierschinken”, and don’t worry, there is no beer in it, it is just very delicious together with beer. There is nothing better than a “Laugenbrötchen” (little piece of bread out of the same ingredients like Brezel) with butter and “Bierschinken”.

    Ulli

  7. 13 Annaleise May 15, 2010 at 1:25 am

    So funny about the butcher/library – I can understand the confusion ! 🙂


Leave a Reply

About Me

A girl with a camera, a toddler and a sewing machine. Making sense of Germany... and life in general.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 63 other followers

I Make…

Handmade Baby Shorts in Liberty's 'Cordelia'

Handmade Necklace in 'Fairford' $21

Handmade Bead Necklace in 'Wiltshire' $21

Handmade Bracelet in 'Fairford' $15

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

