London Calling

I have dreamed of visiting London since Mary Poppins was given to me on VHS. I’m reasonably sure the film was shot in Disney’s studio. Nonetheless, London became the place of my yearnings. Twenty years on, I had my first opportunity to visit, en route to Germany. I felt I was entering Aladdin’s cave, an endless maze of delights just waiting to be sampled and savoured. I fully expected to find pigeons, chimney sweeps, and Dick Van Dyck playing a one-man-band. It’s interesting to see how the reality of a place lives up to one’s imagination. Amidst the euphoria of my very first overseas trip, there was a sobering lesson to learn. Travel does not complete you as a person. It does not make you more important, it’s not the consummate experience of all mankind. If I’d stayed in little Wollongong and never seen Big Ben, I would have no more excuse not to be compassionate and broadminded. That said, in God’s kindness I had a wonderful time. Years of watching As Time Goes By had me equally enthralled by Sainsbury’s and Marks and Spencer as I was by anything else. Highlights included a walking tour of the changing of the guard (running alongside the guards was great fun), The V&A, Harrods and of course, Liberty. There was no Dick Van Dyck, but there were definitely pigeons.

1 Response to “London Calling”


  1. 1 arthurkelly March 12, 2010 at 6:28 am

    Hello Ally,

    I’m so glad you enjoyed London after all those years of yearning and the numerous viewings of Mary Poppins and every episode of ATGB over and over again. I’m even beginning to remember some of them myself!! How proud of you do I feel?? Your writing is so fluent and captivating. Keep writing and photographing. We are enjoying your blog almost as much as talking on Skype!!

    Lots of love and a big hug for Rose.

    Dad


Leave a Reply

About Me

A girl with a camera, a toddler and a sewing machine. Making sense of Germany... and life in general.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 63 other followers

I Make…

Handmade Baby Shorts in Liberty's 'Cordelia'

Handmade Necklace in 'Fairford' $21

Handmade Bead Necklace in 'Wiltshire' $21

Handmade Bracelet in 'Fairford' $15

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

