Hello and Goodbye

Well here we are.

Goodbye Australia, Hallo Deutschland. For those who’ve never met me, I’m an Aussie girl, wife and mum, knitter, writer, photographer, amateur seamstress and follower of Jesus. Four years ago, I married my best friend and high school sweetheart. Two degrees, one PhD and one baby later, we’ve packed up and moved ourselves to Stuttgart, Germany where my hubby is working as a postdoc physicist. This blog is how I intend to keep in touch with loved ones, to document our adventures, to stretch my creative legs and to generally keep myself sane.

Well, hello world.

Just a note to anyone who might be wondering “why Mavis and Frank”? This is the name of my beloved etsy store, where I peddle the various fruits of my creative labour. The name comes from my Grandparents, Mavis and Frank Purnell. They were nothing if not an adventurous pair, and spent many years traversing the globe long before it was passe. Here is a photo of my Grandpa with three of his four daughters, on a boat between England and Australia.

Grandpa was fond of a good story, and if he’d known what a blog was, I’m sure he’d have loved to have one named in his honour.

2 Responses to “Hello and Goodbye”


  1. 1 Jo March 8, 2010 at 11:32 pm

    Hi,

    What an excellent blog! You’re such a creative whiz…I am enjoying it already!! I can’t wait for what’s next…I’ll love lapping it all up via your words and your photos.

    🙂

  2. 2 Keren March 9, 2010 at 12:07 pm

    Love, love love this blog Ally. Can’t wait for more.xx


Leave a Reply

About Me

A girl with a camera, a toddler and a sewing machine. Making sense of Germany... and life in general.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 63 other followers

I Make…

Handmade Baby Shorts in Liberty's 'Cordelia'

Handmade Necklace in 'Fairford' $21

Handmade Bead Necklace in 'Wiltshire' $21

Handmade Bracelet in 'Fairford' $15

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

