First fruits

One does not like to boast, but this evening we had our first entirely home grown meal from this new garden. Everything we ate, I grew from seed. On the menu were zucchini cakes (I make these, amazing with tomato relish) using eggs from our chooks and a salad of tomatoes, cucumber, baby spinach, beetroot leaves, basil and nasturtiums.

This is what real zucchinis look like. One that something had a nibble at, one that was hiding under a leaf and turned into a monster, one that got more sun up one end than the other. What must they do to commercial zucchinis to get such uniform shape, colour and size? As a consumer of commercial zucchinis, I dread to think. I wonder how many such beauties they throw away.

* Sussex trug. Tony excels at gift giving, really.

9 Responses to “First fruits”


  1. 1 Ronelle November 28, 2012 at 9:40 pm

    Well done Ally! How exciting.

  2. 2 Kim November 28, 2012 at 10:16 pm

    That is very fun!! And you can eat nasturtiums??? Or just for decoration?

    • 3 mavisandfrank November 30, 2012 at 4:10 am

      You can eat them! But they are so pretty, it’s hard to pick them. Actually, you can eat flowers as well as leaves. You can also pick the berries which are apparently similar to capers when pickled. I’ll let you know :-)

  3. 4 Arthur November 29, 2012 at 3:14 am

    I am sure that this will be the first of many entirely home grown meals for your family Ally. The wait has been worth it! Tell Rose we are about to pick the first of “our” beans. I’ve just harvested the spuds. The straw-grown ones were somewhat disappointing – healthyf top growth but not much to show under the straw. They will taste awesome though!

  4. 5 Gerri Frederiksen November 29, 2012 at 5:20 am

    Oooh, I have zucchini envy!!
    However, Torbs and I have managed to grow some pretty mean cucumbers!
    Go the backyard veggie patch!!
    Love Gerri..xx

  5. 7 Sam @ Buckingham Road November 29, 2012 at 10:54 am

    I think I will give that recipe a try! I am fasinated by how far along your garden is compared to mine down hear. Obviously we have different climates but I can’t believe you’re already harvesting deep red tomatoes! I can’t wait for mine to ripen :-) Can you tell me what type of zucchini the yellow ones are? I harvested my first zucchini today… oh and soooo many beans. I feel a bean glut coming on :-) Sam xox

    • 8 mavisandfrank November 30, 2012 at 4:15 am

      Hi Sam! Gotta love the sub tropics. Apparently I can grow tomatoes all year round! I planted the seeds in July and planted out the seedlings in September, so a pretty fast harvest. The yellow zucchini is a ‘Golden’. The trade off for having a sub tropical climate is lots of humidity. The zucchinis will probably have to be pulled out early because of the mildew. I think I’ll have to try something different for zucchinis next year, eg a soaker hose.

  6. 9 Gerri Frederiksen December 1, 2012 at 12:13 am

    Thanks Ally.
    I have also managed to grow lots of different lettuce, a variety of herbs, some beautiful cherry tomatoes and I am awaiting my green capsicum harvest!
    The only mistake, I seem to have made is planting broccoli…not a head in site and lots of holes in the leaves?
    love Gerri..xx


Leave a Reply

About Me

A girl with a camera, a toddler and a sewing machine. Making sense of Germany... and life in general.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 61 other followers

I Make…

Handmade Baby Shorts in Liberty's 'Cordelia'

Handmade Necklace in 'Fairford' $21

Handmade Bead Necklace in 'Wiltshire' $21

Handmade Bracelet in 'Fairford' $15

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 61 other followers

